Hedge
Search…
Questions

Is Checkpoint included in Hedge?

Checkpoint is our source verification technology. It's available in two flavors: within Hedge and as a separate app. Both have a different use case:
  • In Hedge, use Checkpoint to verify your source files during backup or archive. If your source contains Media Hash Lists (MHLs) those checksums will be compared to the newly created checksums, speeding up the verification process considerably. There's a lot of background information on this process available on our blog.
  • Checkpoint, the app, is useful when you want to be sure a backup isn't suffering from bit rot or other types of corruption. Use it to reverify backups or archives made with Hedge or other pro-data management apps that support MHL creation.
If you don't need the latter, there's no need to buy the Checkpoint app.

On macOS Big Sur (and up), my UNTITLED cards are not always showing up

macOS Big Sur introduced an annoying bug that prevents Hedge from detecting newly mounted Untitled cards. The bug is so deep, that even macOS doesn't see the card properly, only mounting it on the Desktop as Untitled 1. Hedge 20.4.7 fixes this by periodically refreshing the Disks View.

Some of my drives are not showing up.

Hedge by default shows all drives connected to your computer, including mounted Network Volumes. If a drive is not visible, most of the time one of these reasons applies:
macOS
Windows
  • Your drive is hidden. Go to Preferences > Disks and unhide the drive.
  • You are referring to LTO, which is not supported. To copy to and from LTO, use Canister.
  • Your drive is hidden. Go to Settings > Disks and unhide the drive.
  • A network drive must be assigned a drive letter. You can do so in Explorer.
Does none of the above help? Let us know.

Hedge shows an incorrect "Drive is empty" alert.

When Hedge is not allowed to access a drive, macOS will tell Hedge it's empty. Fix this by enabling Full Disk Access in the Security & Privacy system preferences:

How do I know if a transfer failed?

If there's a hardware issue (lost or interrupted drive connection, or if you have Checkpoint enabled, an issue with a card reader or source media) you'll see a red transfer bar. If a file has been copied correctly, but the checksums do not match, you'll get an orange bar.
The former situation is fixed by simply redoing the transfer, as Hedge will pick up where it left off. The latter situation requires you to check the copied footage, as very often there is nothing wrong with the file. If you nonetheless want to recopy that file simply delete the copy, redo the transfer, and Hedge will detect it only needs to recopy that one file. This situation is pretty rare though; it's much more common that issues arise with source readers/cables/drives and such. Destinations nowadays are quite robust.

Why does Hedge show an 'Incomplete Codex disk detected' alert?

Codex disks work with dynamic VFS volumes. After the Codex driver has mounted the disk, it takes a while for the file system to be populated. The duration depends on the performance of your computer and on how much content is living on the disk.
Hedge twice checks if the Codex file system is done building; when the transfer starts and when the transfer is finished. When a change in the source's contents is detected between those two checks, Hedge will show the 'Incomplete Codex disk detected' alert. The fix button will re-add the transfer, so the whole source is transferred again, skipping over the files that already transferred, and reading only the newly discovered files.
If this happens often, make sure to update to the latest Codex Device Manager. Also, don't start Codex transfers right away but give a mag some time to load properly. Alternatively, you can use Finder to check if all the clips and files are loaded, before starting the transfer.

Does upgrading my OS affect Hedge?

If your Hedge license is eligible for updates on the day a new macOS or Windows major release happens, you get a free update to support the new OS.
We always support a new macOS and Windows version on the day it's released, as a minor update (x.y.z). This means that if your license is eligible for the at that day current major version (x.y), the Hedge update supporting the new OS is free.
When you run a version of Hedge that was released prior to an OS release, that OS is not supported. However, that doesn't mean you can't use it:
When starting Hedge on a too new OS, you'll get a warning that you are using an unsupported OS. You can either choose to extend your license, or continue as is. We cannot guarantee it will work without issues, as especially Apple often changes core systems that affect data transfers. Use of non-supported Hedge versions is fine, but at your own risk, and obviously, not supported by us when you do run into an issue and reach out. We’ll of course try to help, but if your issue is obviously caused by using a too new OS, an upgrade is required.

When I buy a new Mac, do I need to extend my Hedge license?

If you purchase a Hedge license today, it will be supported on the current and the next version of macOS. If you buy a new Mac with an even newer version of macOS down the road, chances are Hedge will be unsupported on that macOS release without extending your license.
In this scenario, Hedge will launch, but then warn you it's unsupported on that version of macOS. If you see the Unsupported OS badge in Hedge, you can continue using Hedge, but we can't guarantee it will perform as expected.
So while most users extend their Hedge license when buying a new Mac to ensure they have the latest, supported version of Hedge, it's not required.

What if my computer goes to sleep during a Transfer?

Hedge will prevent your computer from going to sleep while transfers are still running.

I see Transfer Logs and Media Hash Lists (MHLs) on the Destination. Can I delete those safely?

Transfer Logs are nothing more than a receipt, and also always saved locally on the machine that did the transfer, so it's safe to delete them.
When a Transfer is in progress, Hedge prevents your computer from going to sleep, ensuring a complete transfer without interruption.
Media Hash Lists can also be deleted safely, although they are very useful when recopying a backup made with Hedge. When Hedge detects MHLs on a source, the checksums stored in the MHLs will be reused for verification, speeding up the process.
If having Transfer Logs and MHLs on your Destinations isn't useful in your workflow, disable their creation:
Preferences > Transfers > Logging > Create Transfer Logs and MHLs on Destinations

Why does Hedge say my transfer "does not fit" on the Destination, although I have plenty of disk space?

If you're using a recent Mac, your Destination is likely formatted as an APFS volume. With APFS volumes, a portion of your storage may be designated as purgeable space. Currently, Hedge can't clearpurgeable data because macoS reports it to Hedge as storage-in-use.
To find out how much purgeable space is on a disk, in Finder select the Destination and do a Get Info ([Cmd] + I):
There is no official way to manually clear purgeable data as macOS handles it itself, but apps like OnyX can be useful to clean the System and Application caches, thus clearing that purgeable data on reboot, making it available for Hedge once again. Otherwise, you'll have to wait on macOS to decide when that purgeable space is officially free to use.

After a transfer the Destination and Source differ in size, says Finder.

Some people that previously used Finder to copy data have a habit of comparing folder sizes to determine if a copy was successful. Besides this being a flawed method as it doesn't show file corruption, it also produces a lot of false positives. For multiple reasons, folders might contain different file amounts or sizes. Possible contributors may include:
  • Hedge doesn’t copy hidden system files (e.g. .DS_Store, .Trash, Spotlight, Time Machine files, etc.).
  • Transferring files between different file systems (e.g. from ExFAT to APFS) can result in different sizes due to block size differences.
  • Some extended file attributes couldn't be transferred during a transfer between different file systems.
  • The operating system may create extra attributes on certain files during a transfer.
Last modified 27d ago