Bin Locking

Bin Locking stops others from overwriting your bins while you're working on them. It allows editors to collaborate, and was introduced by Avid in Media Composer.

With Bin Refresh, when changes occur on a bin locked by another editor, Media Composer will refresh a locked bin's state in your Project, exposing those changes. Bin Refresh also allows you to take command of a bin once it's no longer in use by another editor.

Lock States for Refreshed Bins

Lock ColorWho's using this Bin?Can you read the Bin?Can you write to the Bin?

🟒

You

βœ…

βœ…

πŸ”΄

Them

βœ…

❌

🟑

Them

βœ…

❌

πŸ”΅

No one, available to you

βœ…

βœ…

🟒 - You're in control with full read/write access to the Bin.

πŸ”΄ - Somebody else is working in this Bin. You have read-only access to it.

🟑 - The locked Bin you have open was updated. Click the Bin's padlock to see the latest version.

πŸ”΅ - The user who previously held the lock on this Bin has since released it. Click the padlock to acquire read/write access.

You must open this Bin on your computer while someone else is using it on their computer to see the lock change from πŸ”΄ to πŸŒ• or πŸ”΅.

Last updated